h1

Finally got around to setting up a blog

June 8, 2006

I finally broke down and decided to start a blog.  I have these scraps of paper and post-it notes all over my office with info on cool sites and stuff that I have stumbled across on the web.  I think that this weblog will be a good place to post and organize all of this miscellaneous information.

But first, let me introduce myself.  I’m a software engineer and have worked for Novell for the past 11 years.  For most of that time I have focused my efforts on the FLAIM database technology.  My brother-in-law once asked me, “Gee!  You’ve worked on FLAIM for a long time.  Isn’t it done yet?”  That’s the most amazing part of working on a fundamental technology like FLAIM … there are always new platforms, technologies, optimization techniques, query languages, programming languages, and so forth that need to be supported.  FLAIM continues to provide new challenges and opportunities.  Now that FLAIM has been released as an open-source component of the Novell-sponsored Bandit project (www.bandit-project.org) I expect the technology to continue to evolve with the participation of new developers in the open-source community.

Leave a comment